Sydney Unleashed

Sydney's #1 Entertainment & Lifestyle Publication

AACTA Awards

Rudimental for AACTA Awards

With just days to go until Australia’s biggest film and television Awards, yet more top talent and outstanding local and international music acts have been announced for the broadcast on Channel Seven.

Newly-announced presenters for the 5th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Presto in Sydney on Wednesday include Mel Gibson, Manu Feildel, Magda Szubanski, Megan Gale, Erik Thomson, and Brenton Thwaites.

AACTA have also announced Emma Freedman and James Tobin as hosts of the show’s red carpet, and revealed two new music performances, creating a top line-up with Birds of Tokyo.

UK dance group Rudimental will perform live from the stage during the Ceremony. Since releasing their debut album Home in 2013 (which sold over half a million copies) the band has received a host of Awards, including a BRIT Award for Best British Single for ‘Waiting All Night’. Sophomore album We The Generation marks a progressive Rudimental, a genre-defying collective that will continue to change the face of dance music on the global scene. New single ‘Lay It All On Me’ is already certified Gold and features chart prodigy Ed Sheeran on lead vocals.

Justice Crew recently recorded the AACTA Awards Ceremony show opener on location in Sydney, hot off the back of their brand new single, Good Time; a rhythmic urban track written by Dante Jones and Andrew Bolooki. The show opener also features top favourite TV talent including Mandy McElhinney, Home & Away’s Kyle Pryor and star of 800 Words, Melina Vidler. Justice Crew have sold in excess of 1.75 million units and have over 2 million social connections; watch the incredible video for ‘Good Time’ here.

AACTA this week announced four nominees for its special one-off AACTA Subscription Television 20th Anniversary Award for Best Drama: DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND; LOVE MY WAY; TOP OF THE LAKE; and WENTWORTH. AACTA today announced that LOVE MY WAY favourite, Claudia Karvan, will attend the Ceremony, alongside former co-star, RUBEN GUTHRIE writer/director, Brendan Cowell.

Guests attending on the night include Margaret Pomeranz, Marta Dusseldorp, Alexandra Schepisi, Damian Walshe-Howling, Firass Dirani, Brooke Satchwell, Sara West, Rove McManus, Tasma Walton, Rob Mills and Nicole da Silva.

The 5th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Presto will be broadcast nationally on Channel Seven on Wednesday 9 December (2015) at 8.30pm, with an encore screening on Foxtel Movies Masterpiece channel on Friday 11 December at 10.15pm.

Sydney Unleashed is one of Australia’s premier entertainment publications exploring the latest in lifestyle trends. From Sydney’s finest restaurants, cafes and bars to the hottest in gadgets, products, and home entertainment, Sydney Unleashed is your one-stop lifestyle platform.