Sydney Unleashed

Sydney's #1 Entertainment & Lifestyle Publication

AACTA Awards 2014

AACTA Awards 2014

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) have honoured the year’s best achievements in Australian film and television at the 3rd AACTA Awards Ceremony held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney on 30th January. The event was hosted by actor and comedian Shane Bourne and included over 1300 guests such as President Geoffrey Rush, Australian screen professionals Cate Blanchett, Rachel Griffiths, Baz Luhrmann, Catherine Martin, Sam Worthington, Elizabeth Debicki, and many more.

Jacki Weaver, one of Australia’s most loved and respected actors, was presented with the AACTA Raymond Longford Award – the highest recognition the Australian Academy can bestow on an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia’s screen environment and culture. The AACTA Raymond Longford Award was presented to Jacki in a tribute that included an array of personalities that have known and worked with Jacki over the years, including Jack Thompson, Claudia Karvan, David Michôd and US actor Bradley Cooper who worked with Jacki in David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook.

Director Baz Luhrmann was also honoured for creative vision and his contribution to forging opportunities for those working in the Australian screen industry through a medley of popular songs that have been featured across his film’s soundtracks. The medley included: Love is in the Air preformed by David Gleeson; I’m Kissing You, performed by Delta Goodrem; A Little Party Never Killed Nobody preformed by Natalie Bassingthwaite and Lady Marmalade performed by Prinnie Stevens.

Another special highlight of 3rd AACTA Awards Ceremony was the presentation of the Byron Kennedy Award to the Australian Cinematographers Society. Accepted by National President, Ron Johanson ACS, The Byron Kennedy Award celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the film and television industries and is given to an individual or organisation whose work embodies innovation and the relentless pursuit of excellence.

The celebration of Australian talent and notable achievements both in front of and behind the camera continued through out the evening – THE GREAT GATSBY proved unstoppable, adding another six awards to the seven it received at Tuesday’s 3rd AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe, this time for Best Film, Best Direction, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

Other Australian features to win a 3rd AACTA Award were THE ROCKET for Best Original Screenplay and THE TURNING for Best Lead Actress, which went to Rose Byrne. RED OBSESSION was awarded as this year’s Best Feature Length Documentary.

The audience was treated to teasers of four upcoming Australian films, courtesy of Roadshow Films, including THE ROVER written by Joel Edgerton, directed by David Michôd and starring Robert Pattinson and Guy Pearce. THE ROVER is due for release on July 31, 2014.

In Australian television, the 3rd AACTA Awards Ceremony celebrated eight unique programs across 11 categories and four networks, including the ABC (REDFERN NOW – SERIES 2, SHAUN MICALLEF’S MAD AS HELL – SERIES 2, THE TIME OF OUR LIVES and PLEASE LIKE ME); FOXTEL (TOP OF THE LAKE), Network TEN (OFFSPRING – SEASON 4; MASTERCHEF: THE PROFESSIONALS) and the Nine Network (POWER GAMES: THE PACKER-MURDOCH STORY).

Sydney Unleashed is one of Australia’s premier entertainment publications exploring the latest in lifestyle trends. From Sydney’s finest restaurants, cafes and bars to the hottest in gadgets, products, and home entertainment, Sydney Unleashed is your one-stop lifestyle platform.