Sydney Unleashed

Sydney's #1 Entertainment & Lifestyle Publication



Legendary Liverpool band Echo & the Bunnymen are putting the finishing touches on their 12th studio album and first since 2009, METEORITES. Produced by Youth (Killing Joke, The Verve), the album contains ten hand-picked new songs written by founder Ian McCulloch and performed by Bunnymen stalwarts McCulloch and Will Sergeant along with Gordy Goudie (guitar) and Stephen Brannan (bass).

Formed in 1978, the Bunnymen have been a vital force in the indie rock world for over 36 years having won over millions of obsessive music fans worldwide and indelibly influenced countless bands with their signature sound—from the Flaming Lips to Coldplay to Pavement. METEORITES is a key addition to their repertoire. It’s an intimate song cycle written by Ian McCulloch, performed by the band with a renewed sense of purpose showcasing all of their unmistakable musical hallmarks while taking them to a new level.

Says McCulloch: “METEORITES, the new Bunnymen album…at long last we’ve made the worthy successor to ‘Crocodiles,’ ‘Heaven Up Here,’ ‘Porcupine’ and ‘Ocean Rain.’ METEORITES is what Echo & the Bunnymen mean and are meant to be—up there in heaven–untouchable, celestial, beautiful and real. It has changed my life.

METEORITES track listing:

1)       Lovers On The Run
2)       Is This A Breakdown
3)       Holy Moses
4)       Meteorites
5)       Explosions
6)       Icarus
7)       I Loved The Devil
8)       Constantinople
9)       Market Town
10)   New Horizons

METEORITES is available now on 429 Records through Universal Music Australia.

Sydney Unleashed is one of Australia’s premier entertainment publications exploring the latest in lifestyle trends. From Sydney’s finest restaurants, cafes and bars to the hottest in gadgets, products, and home entertainment, Sydney Unleashed is your one-stop lifestyle platform.